Gluten is a thing that naturally occurs in wheat to make it sticky and that's why you can roll it into a ball when you make dough. Gluten is hard to digest so some people don't eat it. It's in wheat, rye, semolina, and some other things. Some people are actually allergic to gluten and some are sensitive to it. I get a headache when i eat 1 cup of semolina spaghetti noodles.
Some symptoms of gluten sensitivity are:
Breaking out (it's like a rash but it mostly occurs on your face or neck)
(I do not have all of those symptoms)
Later on I will be showing you Gluten Free recipes so you can try being Gluten Free and see if you don't feel better.
Foods made from grains that do not contain harmful gluten, including: Corn in all forms. Rice in all forms, Amaranth, buckwheat (kasha), Montina, Millet, Quinoa, teff, sorghum, and soy.
The following ingredients:
Annatto, glucose syrup, lecithin, maltodextrin, oat gum, plain spices, silicon dioxide, starch, food starch, and vinegar (malt vinegar may contain gluten), Also citric acid, lactic, and malic acids, as well as sucrose, dextrose, and lactose, and these baking products: arrowroot, cornstarch, tapioca starch or flour, guar, and xanthan gums, potato starch or flour, and vanilla.
The following foods:
Milk, butter, real cheese, plain yogurt and vegetable oils. Plain fruits, vegetables, meat, eggs, nuts, seafood, beans, legumes, and flours made from them.
Distilled vinegar is gluten free except malt vinegar
Distilled alcoholic beverages are gluten free because distillation effectively removes gluten from wheat. They are not gluten free if gluten free ingredients are added after distillation but this is rarely if ever happens.
mono and diglycerides are fats and are gluten free
Spices are gluten free if there is no ingredient list on container except spices listed on label
Wheat in any form except buckwheat.
Barley and malt
breaded meats or vegetables
Licorice, imitation crab meat, beer (specialty gluten-free beer is available)
Flavorings (read if it says contains wheat or barley)
Modified food starch (again look at the label)
Oats (some are labeled gluten free if not use in moderation)
Pharmaceuticals can contain gluten although most are not. Research the company
Seasoning mixes could contain gluten. (Wheat will be noted on the label)